Divine Impassibility

Here’s my paper that I wrote for Senior Seminar.

Click here to read

A word about theological minutiae:
It has come to my attention that my views stated in this paper boarder on Nestorianism, and I would like to clarify my position. If I had stated that Christ suffered in his human nature, but not his divine nature, this would have been Nestorian, and this is not what I advocate. I state what Cyril of Alexandria said of the Hypostatic Union- that the very Son of God, the Logos incarnate, suffered and died, and that he suffered and died as a man. This means that God’s act of “becoming” flesh was a personal/existential becoming, so that God the Son’s mode of existing was as man, and it was as a man that he suffered and died. Jesus, the Son of God, had two natures, one divine and one human, and that these two natures are united in the person who is Jesus Christ. It is the person, the Logos, the Son of God, truly God, existing truly as a man, that suffered and died for us.

About Joshua

Amateur writer and honest inquirer. I love to write and learn by doing so. That's why I'm here.
This entry was posted in Papers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Divine Impassibility

  1. Dennis Phelps says:

    Just discovered your blog. Thanks for the writing. Looking forward to reading it more.

Leave a Reply

